Wat Phra Sri Sanphet in Ayutthaya
Wat Phra Sri Sanphet stands as the biggest temple ruins in Ayutthaya’s Historic city.
It once served as a Royal Temple within the Grand Palace, which was built by King Boromtriloknath in 1448.
Later on in 1492, his son King Ramathibodi built two big stupas in the remembrance of his father and his brother. A Third stupa was constructed in the next kingship. Several small stupas were built afterwards to place many royal relics. Many structures are remarkably constructed using red bricks.
The site was mainly used for royal ceremonies and no monks used to dwell within the premises.
The place has many Buddha idols which are headless. This presumably happened because during the war period, the place was burnt down and several idols were ransacked in the hope of finding treasures inside.