Palace of Fine Arts in San Francisco
The Palace of Fine Arts is located on Lyon Street in San Francisco.
The design of the building is the brainchild of Bernard Maybeck. Visitors can see a fine blend of Greek and Roman architecture in this edifice.
It was built in 1915 for the Panama-Pacific Exposition. The building consists of symbolic figures and sculptured frieze, which were designed by a German - American sculptor named Ulric Ellerhusen.
Visitors can see the huge exhibition hall inside the Palace of Fine Arts. The hall has now been converted into an Exploratorium.
The Exploratorium hosts a number of interactive science exhibits. The building originally had eight domes. However, now visitors can see only one of them that has been carefully restored. A man made lagoon is located in front of the building which reflects the beauty of this astonishing building.
Similar sorts of lagoon can be found in various European buildings, which were constructed for the same purpose.