The museum is located at the Old Town Hall at Main Street in Stowe Village. The building is listed in the National Register of Historic places. The building was constructed in the year 1818.
It was used as a Town Hall and gymnasium until the early 1900. The fire department relocated it in 1973 and until 1999 it was used as a water and light office. Finally it was converted into the Vermont Ski Museum. One million dollars were spent for the purpose of the renovation of this building. It has a showcase facility, fire safety, air conditioners and it covers 5400 square foot.